Haidan (September 2016)

Here’s a glimpse of Old Pond Comics published in Haidan journal in Japan. Every month, My haiku cartoon accompanies an article written by Emiko Miyashita.

Sept 2019 Haidan issue by Emiko

Haidan (September 2016 issue). Photo by Emiko Miyashita used with permission.

I’m very lucky Emiko sends me photos of the issue of Haidan as soon as it comes out since my copy takes time to reach me in Canada.

Emiko writes that the object on the left is a biwa and the rock on the right comes from Nice!

Here’s the comic published in the September 2016 issue of Haidan:

op_arima_traveler_back_3

It’s funny how reading the comics two months later I realize perhaps the haiku should have been placed in panel #2 instead.

2 thoughts on “Haidan (September 2016)

  1. it’s so fun cool seeing your work published like this.

    I’m forever discovering/seeing adjustments (some relatively major) after I let go of my work and post it.

    learning how to let go before I let it go—another step along the way. in other words how to sit with it for two months in an hour or two maybe.

    fun. aloha.

    walking
    to the mountain and back
    under the tree

    • I wish I had the patience (and time) to wait 1-2 months before publication as sometimes I feel some of my comics were published too prematurely some times. Looking at older comics can be painful. Oh, well, we have to live with it. And learn to let go, like you say.

      I love your haiku: it illustrates and conclude your comment so well.

Leave a Reply

