VanCAF – Day 1

I had a table at the Vancouver Comics Arts Festival (VanCAF) at the Roundhouse this week-end.

vancaf day 1

It was my first time at VanCAF as a vendor. It’s a curated show (meaning they carefully review each submissions and decide who gets to go in) so I was super happy to be accepted as a fellow cartoonist.

vancaf table

I had brought some of my haiku-comics:

  • Haiku-Comics (40 haiku-comics by famous Japanese masters, as seen on The Haiku Foundation blog)
  • There’s no white belt in haiku
  • Haiku: a short introduction (with cartoons)
  • How to write a haiku (mini)
  • The seven stages of writing (mini)

vancaf first half

I separated my table at VanCAF in two sections. This section is “Learn haiku through cartoons”. It featured my new zine “Haiku: a short introduction (with cartoons)”.

vancaf second half

The second section of my table was dedicated to haiku-comics. It featured my book of 40 haiku-comics, some mini-zines, and free haiku-comics samples people can take home.

Many people recognized the word “Haiku” from something they’ve learned in school, years ago and stopped by to chat and buy comics.

A few people recognized my comic strips from the monthly publication The Bulletin: a journal of Japanese Canadian Community, history + culture

vancaf 2

The show ran from 10am-6pm today and will run again from 11am-5pm tomorrow.  

Thanks to everybody who stopped by the table today! I hope you will try to write haiku.

3 thoughts on “VanCAF – Day 1

  1. Looks very cool! I just bought the 5 comic combo from the website – looking forward to seeing more quirky characters and great haiku 🙂

    • Hi Sue, I received your order. Thank you so much for your support of Old Pond Comics. Because I’m out of town at the moment, I’m sorry to report there will be a short delay in the delivery: I will only be able to mail the package on June 21 when I return. I`m sorry for the delay. I will try to include a little surprise with the package as a compensation. Thanks again. Jessica

      • Oh don’t worry about the delay, that’s fine. And thank you for combining and sharing the great haiku and quirky humour in your comics 🙂

Leave a Reply

