Sketchbook – stone still

FINAL-sniffing-frogI can’t draw to save my life. Lucky for me, there’s a computer program called Illustrator that helps me draw straight lines.

How do you become a cartoonist when you can’t draw? I learned not to freak out.

If I have to draw a horse, my first thoughts are  usually “How am I gonna draw a horse? I don’t know how to draw a horse!!!”, but then  I remember the works of French painter Rene Magritte who wrote, underneath the painting of a pipe,  “This is not a pipe” (“Ceci n’est pas une pipe”).  Of course it’s not a pipe… it’s a painting of a pipe!

Magritte's "La Trahison des Images" ("The Treachery of Images") (1928-9) or "Ceci n'est pas une pipe" ("This is not a pipe"). From: Image taken from a University of Alabama site, "Approaches to Modernism"

Rene Magritte’s “La Trahison des Images” (1928-9) From: University of Alabama site, “Approaches to Modernism”

Basically, it doesn’t have to “be” a horse, it just has to “look” like a horse.

So there you go. This is my representation of a horse for you…

One thought on “Sketchbook – stone still

Leave a Reply

