Learning Japanese – my first class

I started Japanese  classes yesterday. As expected, I’m the worst student in class. It’s hard for me to be in a class that focuses primarily on conversation: I’m a visual learner so I need I need to see the words to memorize them. I only “get it” once I’m studying on my own afterwards. Humbling experience.

The day after the class, I started doing comics using the few words of Japanese I learned.

You’ll find below the first ever bilingual English-Japanese Old Pond comic!

As Basho and snail are climbing Mount Fuji, snail gets tired and…

op_language_shoe_sockIt’s fun to try to make “one word” comic. Kutsu=shoes, kutsushita=socks.  
5 thoughts on “Learning Japanese – my first class

    • I’m looking forward to the second class. Coming up: days of the weeks, color, numbers, how to tell time… It feels like I’m in first grade again (but in a different country, with a different language)!

Leave a Reply

